Friday, February 5, 2010

the easy way out.

As I sit here in the ODU Library in between classes.. I start to wonder; is school overrated? Do some people just not take it seriously? I'm like a half people-watcher. I'm definitely not as nosey as some people but I do take a gander at some people every now & then.

There are the people that are here studying, doing homework, writing papers, etc. The "normal" college thing to do. But then there are the people who are just sitting here playing games, on facebook, looking at god knows what. Granted I have been one of the latter before, actually several times.. But thats only when I don't really have any studying to do. But these people I'm talking about.... totally will sit here for hours upon hours not doing anything school related. Why don't you just go home? Or hey here's a thought, actually do homework? I would never sit in the library at school just to play on facebook or anything like that. That's a little rediculous.

Do these students even care about their schooling? Heck, you're paying for it! Sometimes I do get in the mood where I just don't want to go to school anymore, or skip class, or whatever.. but then I get over it and just go because I know in the long run it will be worth it.

Now who knows if teaching is what I really want to do.. Yes, I love kids and love helping others. But I used to want to be in the medical field.. but just couldn't take it. Well, couldn't take the nursing home that is. Thats what stopped it all. I watched open heart surgery and it didn't bother me one bit. But wiping an old, fragile lady's bum... yeah that did it for me. It was just one time, but I guess it wasn't in my stars. So I feel like I'm taking the easy way out. By switching to teaching. But yet, it's definitely not easy. You have a LOT of responsibility being a teacher. So am I taking the easy way out? Are these people in the library taking the easy way out? Who really knows.. but we all take the roads to get somewhere, no matter where we might be going.


and on that note, i'm going to go do some school-related work :)

No comments:

Post a Comment