andddd on a lighter side. this is me and Ty's new favorite thing to watch and laugh about :)
Monday, February 22, 2010
New Beginnings
So... I've been in college since August 2006. At first, when I applied, I thought I wanted to be a nurse. That dream quickly came to an end in my senior year of high school when I was in a care partner program and had clinicals at the nursing home. It was just for 6 hours, one day out of my life. and I couldnt do it... There was just something about bathing and changing an elderly woman's diaper that I couldnt do. There was more to it than that but that was about the jist of it.
So I quickly decided that when I came to college, at good ol' Old Dominion.. that I wanted to be a teacher. I've been at it since 2006 and all of a sudden, those plans are changing. Its not that I dont want to be a teacher, because I really would love to.. its just it's not happening for me. It's not in God's plans for me I guess. I'm supposed to graduate next May and then start Grad School the following August. Or at least that was the plan. But yet, I'm not gonna get there. I need to have a 2.8 gpa to declare my major. and pass my Praxis test with flying colors (and note: its expensive). and I need to be accepted into the Teacher Education Services (basically the teaching program..). I need to have all of these in order to take my Practicum class. In and in order to get into the TES program, I need to have the gpa and praxis test scores. Soooo it basically all adds up together. Only problem is...... I have a 2.68 gpa. My Praxis scores are like 4 points below what they need to be. So I need to take it again. AND in order to get my gpa up, I basically need to have straight A's. Which isn't going to happen. Not that I don't want it to or that I don't have high hopes for myself... it's just that in college, I'm not an A/B student like I was in high school. I'm a B/C student. But that's not good enough for the teaching program.
I completely understand you need the best of the best for teachers. But I feel that as long as I know the material, it should be good enough. Not everyone is a brainiac. I feel like I'm just pursuing something that I can't get to. Ultimately I would need to have all those requirements by the end of the summer, at the lastest, but the end of the year in order to graduate next May. Seeing how that's not going to happen.............. I've decided to change my major. Dun Dun Dun....... Not because I'm giving up, or because it's "not what I want to do anymore" but because I need to do whats best for myself. I need to have goals that are reachable, not dreams.
I'm going to switch to Human Services. If I need a minor, it will be Sociology with an emphasis on Social Welfare. It will only set me back about a semester. So I'd graduate in December 2011 instead of May. But I wouldnt have to go to grad school! I would like to eventually work with adoption, foster care, social services, etc. Basically I still want to help kids, just in different ways. Who knows, maybe I can use my knowledge from my teaching courses to help in my new career path. Like Amber said, if I'm this far along and to want to switch, I need to pursue it. So now, its just a waiting game. I've emailed the department on how to go about switching over. Just waiting on their response..
The only big questions of course will be: will I have a job once I graduate??? Who knows. But thats a risk I'm willing to take <3.
So I quickly decided that when I came to college, at good ol' Old Dominion.. that I wanted to be a teacher. I've been at it since 2006 and all of a sudden, those plans are changing. Its not that I dont want to be a teacher, because I really would love to.. its just it's not happening for me. It's not in God's plans for me I guess. I'm supposed to graduate next May and then start Grad School the following August. Or at least that was the plan. But yet, I'm not gonna get there. I need to have a 2.8 gpa to declare my major. and pass my Praxis test with flying colors (and note: its expensive). and I need to be accepted into the Teacher Education Services (basically the teaching program..). I need to have all of these in order to take my Practicum class. In and in order to get into the TES program, I need to have the gpa and praxis test scores. Soooo it basically all adds up together. Only problem is...... I have a 2.68 gpa. My Praxis scores are like 4 points below what they need to be. So I need to take it again. AND in order to get my gpa up, I basically need to have straight A's. Which isn't going to happen. Not that I don't want it to or that I don't have high hopes for myself... it's just that in college, I'm not an A/B student like I was in high school. I'm a B/C student. But that's not good enough for the teaching program.
I completely understand you need the best of the best for teachers. But I feel that as long as I know the material, it should be good enough. Not everyone is a brainiac. I feel like I'm just pursuing something that I can't get to. Ultimately I would need to have all those requirements by the end of the summer, at the lastest, but the end of the year in order to graduate next May. Seeing how that's not going to happen.............. I've decided to change my major. Dun Dun Dun....... Not because I'm giving up, or because it's "not what I want to do anymore" but because I need to do whats best for myself. I need to have goals that are reachable, not dreams.
I'm going to switch to Human Services. If I need a minor, it will be Sociology with an emphasis on Social Welfare. It will only set me back about a semester. So I'd graduate in December 2011 instead of May. But I wouldnt have to go to grad school! I would like to eventually work with adoption, foster care, social services, etc. Basically I still want to help kids, just in different ways. Who knows, maybe I can use my knowledge from my teaching courses to help in my new career path. Like Amber said, if I'm this far along and to want to switch, I need to pursue it. So now, its just a waiting game. I've emailed the department on how to go about switching over. Just waiting on their response..
The only big questions of course will be: will I have a job once I graduate??? Who knows. But thats a risk I'm willing to take <3.
Monday, February 8, 2010
sore throats suck
Ever since I was like 15, I've gotten sick a lot. Before that, I was hardly ever sick! I got some kind of bad infection (which we wont talk about.. and no not anything sexually! lol) not once, but twice! within a six month period. I was out of school for a good week.. someone even came up to me and said they thought I had died. How nice, right? ohh high school. How I don't miss you..
I've had numerous sore throats... more than I can count. I finally gave up and got my tonsils out. My recovery was horrible. Not to where I couldn't do anything or that I was helpless... just that it hurt so bad. But nonetheless I was a trooper! I figured if I could get over this recovery, I'd be good and wouldn't really have to worry about having a sore throat anymore. That lasted a good five & a half months. I've had the worst sore throat for two weeks now. Rediculous! It seriously feels the same as it did when I got my surgery done. No bueno :(
But I went to the doctor today.. gave me some meds. so hopefully it clears up soon. Speaking of that, I have to take my medicine before I go to bed. oh bed, i wish I was able to go to bed! at least I'm laying in bed.. but unfortunately there's so much hw that needs to get done. blahh.
Went out to dinner with my lovely mommy tonight and with my wonderful hubby to be. i <3 my mom. She's wonderful :) Dinner was goooood too. YUM! anyway... goin to study. mainly just wanted to complain about my sore throat ha. Stupid sore throat. Please go away, and never ever come back. Gracias :)
I've had numerous sore throats... more than I can count. I finally gave up and got my tonsils out. My recovery was horrible. Not to where I couldn't do anything or that I was helpless... just that it hurt so bad. But nonetheless I was a trooper! I figured if I could get over this recovery, I'd be good and wouldn't really have to worry about having a sore throat anymore. That lasted a good five & a half months. I've had the worst sore throat for two weeks now. Rediculous! It seriously feels the same as it did when I got my surgery done. No bueno :(
But I went to the doctor today.. gave me some meds. so hopefully it clears up soon. Speaking of that, I have to take my medicine before I go to bed. oh bed, i wish I was able to go to bed! at least I'm laying in bed.. but unfortunately there's so much hw that needs to get done. blahh.
Went out to dinner with my lovely mommy tonight and with my wonderful hubby to be. i <3 my mom. She's wonderful :) Dinner was goooood too. YUM! anyway... goin to study. mainly just wanted to complain about my sore throat ha. Stupid sore throat. Please go away, and never ever come back. Gracias :)
Friday, February 5, 2010
Jason Michael Dubois, Jr.
Just thought I'd share with everyone my favorite little boy in the whole world. He's my nephew. But anyone who knows me, knows that I think of him as one of my own. I love him with all my heart and I couldn't bare being without him.
Isn't he cute!?
I've been growin up lately.. okay well for some time now, but a year ago, I moved out of my mom's house. Big step I know. The thing I think that saddened me most was that I wasn't going to see this precious little face as often as I wanted to. I mean I could, but I have a very busy life and can't just hop on over to my mom's house anytime I want. I was sad about moving out for several reasons but also happy & excited at the same time. I talk to my mom everyday so that wasn't going to be a problem. My little Doodiebugs just brightens up my day! I make it a point to have him stay the night with me every once in a while. It breaks my heart when my mom texts me saying "Doodie wanted to stop by Sissy's tonight." Its making me tear up just writing this post, but only because I just love him so much.
I'm so proud of the little boy he's becoming. I can't believe he turns five in July. I mean, I've been around ever since this little man was born. July 5th, 2005 8lbs 9oz at 8:17pm (btw 8:17 is me & ty's anniversary -- August 17.. how cute!). So basically he's grown up right before my eyes. He starts kindergarten just a couple weeks before I get married... I guess it will be two big steps in both of our lives <3
With all that said, I just hope my kids are half as cute as him. I love you my little Doodiebugs <3
the easy way out.
As I sit here in the ODU Library in between classes.. I start to wonder; is school overrated? Do some people just not take it seriously? I'm like a half people-watcher. I'm definitely not as nosey as some people but I do take a gander at some people every now & then.
There are the people that are here studying, doing homework, writing papers, etc. The "normal" college thing to do. But then there are the people who are just sitting here playing games, on facebook, looking at god knows what. Granted I have been one of the latter before, actually several times.. But thats only when I don't really have any studying to do. But these people I'm talking about.... totally will sit here for hours upon hours not doing anything school related. Why don't you just go home? Or hey here's a thought, actually do homework? I would never sit in the library at school just to play on facebook or anything like that. That's a little rediculous.
Do these students even care about their schooling? Heck, you're paying for it! Sometimes I do get in the mood where I just don't want to go to school anymore, or skip class, or whatever.. but then I get over it and just go because I know in the long run it will be worth it.
Now who knows if teaching is what I really want to do.. Yes, I love kids and love helping others. But I used to want to be in the medical field.. but just couldn't take it. Well, couldn't take the nursing home that is. Thats what stopped it all. I watched open heart surgery and it didn't bother me one bit. But wiping an old, fragile lady's bum... yeah that did it for me. It was just one time, but I guess it wasn't in my stars. So I feel like I'm taking the easy way out. By switching to teaching. But yet, it's definitely not easy. You have a LOT of responsibility being a teacher. So am I taking the easy way out? Are these people in the library taking the easy way out? Who really knows.. but we all take the roads to get somewhere, no matter where we might be going.
and on that note, i'm going to go do some school-related work :)
Thursday, February 4, 2010
Along with the Territory..
Hiiiii :) I'm Cherie!
So.. this is something I've always liked to do.. tell about my life. I'm very detail-oriented. I used to have livejournal & xanga back in high school.. those were always fun.
My dear friend AnnaFoFanna started a blog not too long ago and I decided to start one as well.

((Thats her... isnt she pretty!?))
This year is going to be quite the whirlwind. My wonderful man in my life [(Daniel Tyler Street)] proposed to me on Thanksgiving of this past year. November 26, 2009 to be exact. Thats actually my best friend and maid of honor's birthday! :) It was such a happy day.. I had a slight feeling that it was going to happen because of a few things that occurred.. but I was still shocked. I couldn't tell you for the life of me what he said to me or to my family.. all I know is that I got what I've been waiting for.
We've been together for almost 5 1/2 years.. He had the ring since May. He was waiting for the right time. I think he just knows that I'm nosey and would find out.. hahaha. Even though it still wasnt a complete surprise, it was good enough :) He is the love of my life and I couldn't be happier. He is so caring and loving that I couldn't ask for a better man to be married to.

Today we went Cake Tasting. It was so yummy! Jennifer and Tim Shockley of Shockley's Sweet Shoppe are so nice, personable and TALENTED!! Their cakes are amazing.. i definitely recommend them! We even ordered our cake today without consulting with anyone else!
Everything has been coming together so nicely. I'm so excited for the next few months.. The big day is September 18th, just two days before my mom's birthday. 50th birthday to be exact. She's planning her babygirl's wedding.. awwww. haha.
I'm sure until then we may have some crazy, emotional, stressful, happy entries.. but that comes along with the territory of planning a wedding.
and for now, i'm soooo going to eat some leftover cake from the tasting ;)
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)








